Sandra Sinsch-Gouffi: music pedagogue, music therapist, music geragogue and musician


I am a music pedagogue, music therapist, music geragogue, musician
and work in forensic psychiatry in Stendal, Germany. Before that, I spent many years abroad. I was a lecturer in Istanbul at the Istanbul Technical University (ITÜ) State Conservatory of Turkish Music (TMDK) and solo oboist in the Bibliotheca Alexandrina Symphony Orchestra and the orchestra at the Sayed Darwish Theatre in Alexandria, Egypt. My professional biotopes are the more unusual places and the topics I deal with academically are off the beaten track and at the interfaces of the various musical disciplines.

Topics that particularly fascinate me are cultural education and participation in the context of custodial measures (a major topic in my dissertation, which is currently underway at the KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt), music and social justice, as well as research into classical Arabic and Ottoman music therapy and the transfer of receptive and active methods from Şifahane and Bimaristan to contemporary therapy settings. I work intensively with the effect of Modi, Makâm or Raga on body, mind and soul and give a lot of space in my work to what can more or less be summarised under the generic term sound therapy, far away from any Eurocentric view. This also applies to the combination of spirituality, music and therapy. 

It all began as a rather regular career in classical music. At the age of 14, I became an extraordinary student of Prof Winfried Liebermann in Mannheim Music University and was thus trained in the great tradition of the German oboe school. Almost straight from high school I ended up in a state orchestra, won a few competitions and was everything but happy with it. Supported by the German National Academic Foundation, I studied several programmes in Germany at the music universities in Mannheim, Hamburg and Trossingen. I received additional impetus for historical oboe instruments at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis, Switzerland, and the Conservatoire de musique in Strasbourg, France, as I feel most at home between the Middle Ages and classical music. 

I have performed worldwide as a soloist, chamber musician and orchestral musician and have been a guest at festivals such as the Tage Alter Musik Innsbruck, the Schleswig-Holstein Music Festival, the Lake Constance Festival, the Festival de Saintes, the Franconian Summer and in concert halls such as the Berlin Philharmonie, the Cologne Philharmonie, the Konzerthaus Dortmund and the CRR Istanbul. I received an Echo Klassik award in 2012 for the CD "Baroque oriental" (Pera Ensemble, Berlin Classics), and I can also be heard on numerous other CDs and radio recordings. My own ensemble is called "Alla Turca Kollektif" and is dedicated to the interaction between Ottoman and Western music on historical instruments.

I am grateful for my broad-based studies and for everything I have learnt and am still learning. The effect that music has on our physical and mental well-being is too fascinating. Aesthetic spaces of experience have huge potential, especially in the case of psychiatric illnesses. As beautiful as the glossy world of classical music may be - the reality is different. Too many people still have no or only limited access to cultural education and participation. However, cultural education and participation are a non-negotiable human right. In my opinion, everyone who works in musical performance, education and therapy has a responsibility to stand up for this. 

My complete CV can be emailed on request. 

Additional trainings

  • Sound massage practitioner according to Peter Hess®.
  • MUSAD - Music-based Scale for Autism Diagnosis
  • MUPA certificate: Muslim patients in psychotherapy
  • Seminar leader's licence for Progressive Muscle Relaxation according to Jacobsen and Autogenic Training
  • Foreign languages: Turkish, French, English (fluent written and spoken), Arabic (basic), Latin & Ottoman (as needed for source studies).

Awards & stuff

  • Scholarship holder of the German National Academic Foundation
  • 1st prize in the competition for wind instruments of the Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe
  • Competition for Early Music of the Fritz Neumeyer Academy for Early Music and German National Radio (SR)
  • Rast Music Award for the paper and conference presentation " Music educational processes in old age: An introduction to the young academic discipline of music geragogy" published in : Journal for the Interdisciplinary Art and Education

Music & projects

  • I can be heard on various CDs as a baroque oboist, for example "Baroque oriental "(Pera/Berlin Classics), "Café - Orient meets Occicent" (Pera/Berlin Classics), "Amor oriental - Händel alla Turca" (Pera/deutsche harmonia mundi), "Trialog - Music for the One God" (Pera/Berlin Classics). 
  • With my own ensemble Alla Turca Kollektif, which specialises in the interrelations of historical European and Ottoman music, there are radio recordings with German WDR and Swiss Radio DRS 2. Listen to the sound of Alla Turca Kollektif: "Marches des Janissaires (Blainville) - Nevâ Ceng-i Harbi "Çifte Düyek" (Ali Ufkî).
  • " Şifam - beyond music" is the name of a project that is all about oriental therapy music - a healing journey into a forgotten world. Here and here comes the sound. 
  • "Coffee for the King" , published by audible audio books, is a musical fairy tale from my pen. With baroque music from Turkey and Europe, it is about the history of coffee and the magic of Ramadan. As a concert for young ears, the project ran in the Cologne Philharmony among other places. 
  • "Magic Sound" is a format created by the lovely Karin Hübner. With singing bowls, harp and tambura, visitors are transported into another world. They are also welcome to lie down.

Sandra Sinsch-Gouffi: Musikpädagogin, Musiktherapeutin, Musikgeragogin, Musikerin

Ich bin Musikpädagogin, Musiktherapeutin, Musikgeragogin, Musikerin und
und in der forensischen Psychiatrie in Stendal tätig. Zuvor habe ich viele Jahre im Ausland verbracht. Ich war in Istanbul Dozentin am Staatskonservatorium für Türkische Musik (TMDK) der Istanbul Technical University (ITÜ) und Solo-Oboistin im Bibliotheca Alexandrina Symphony Orchestra und dem Orchester am Sayed Darwish Theatre in Alexandria, Ägypten. Meine beruflichen Wohlfühlbiotope sind die eher ungewöhnlichen Orte und auch die Themen, mit denen ich mich wissenschaftlich auseinandersetze, bewegen sich abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade und an den Schnittstellen der verschiedenen musikalischen Disziplinen.

Themen, die mich besonders faszinieren, sind kulturelle Bildung und Teilhabe im Kontext freiheitsentziehender Maßnahmen (ein großes Thema in meiner Dissertation, die aktuell an der KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt läuft), Musik und soziale Gerechtigkeit sowie die Erforschung klassischer arabischer und osmanischer Musiktherapie und der Transfer von rezeptiven und aktiven Methoden aus Şifahane und Bimaristan in zeitgenössische Therapiesettings. Ich beschäftige mich intensiv mit der Wirkung von Modi, Makâm oder auch Raga auf Körper, Geist und Seele und räume dem, was sich mehr oder weniger unter dem Oberbegriff Klangtherapie zusammenfassen lässt, fernab jeglicher eurozentrischer Sichtweise einen großen Raum in meiner Arbeit ein. Das gilt auch für die Verbindung von Spiritualität, Musik und Therapie. 

Begonnen hat alles als eher regelrechte Karriere in der klassischen Musik. Ich wurde mit 14 Jahren Jungstudentin bei Prof. Winfried Liebermann in Mannheim und somit noch in der großen Tradition der deutschen Oboenschule ausgebildet. Fast von der Schulbank weg landete ich in einem Staatsorchester, gewann ein paar Wettbewerbe und war alles, aber nicht glücklich damit. Denn das war mir alles zu einseitig. Studiert habe ich, gefördert von der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes, mehrere musikalische Studiengänge in Deutschland an den Musikhochschulen in Mannheim, Hamburg und Trossingen. Zusätzliche Impulse gab es für die historischen Oboeninstrumente an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis und am Conservatoire de musique in Strasbourg, denn ich fühle mich musikalisch zwischen Mittelalter und Klassik am wohlsten. 

Ich bin als Solistin, Kammermusikerin und Orchestermusikerin weltweit aufgetreten und war zu Gast auf Festivals wie den Tagen Alter Musik Innsbruck, dem Schleswig-Holstein-Musikfestival, dem Bodensee Festival, dem Festival de Saintes, dem Fränkischen Sommer sowie in Konzerthäusern wie der Berliner Philharmonie, der Kölner Philharmonie, dem Konzerthaus Dortmund und dem CRR Istanbul. Einen Echo-Klassik gab es 2012 für die CD "Baroque oriental" (Berlin Classics) daneben gibt es zahlreiche weitere CDs und Rundfunkaufnahmen, auf denen ich zu hören bin. Mein eigenes Ensemble heißt "Alla Turca Kollektif" und widmet sich auf historischem Instrumentarium den Wechselbeziehungen zwischen osmanischer und westlicher Musik. Heute bin ich überwiegend mit Harfen aller Art anzutreffen, denn die spielen in der jahrtausendealten Geschichte des Beruhigens von Menschen eine zentrale Rolle. 

Dankbar bin ich für mein breit aufgestelltes Studium und für alles, was ich lernen durfte und noch lernen darf. Zu faszinierend ist die Wirkung, die Musik auf unser körperliches und seelisches Wohlbefinden hat. Ästhetische Erfahrungsräume haben gerade bei psychiatrischen Erkrankungen ein riesiges Potenzial. So schön die Hochglanzwelt der Klassik sein mag- die Realität sieht anders aus. Noch immer haben zu viele Menschen keinen oder nur erschwerten Zugang zu kultureller Bildung und Teilhabe. Kulturelle Bildung und Teilhabe sind ein nicht verhandelbares Menschenrecht. Meiner Meinung nach hat jeder, der künstlerisch, pädagogisch und therapeutisch tätig ist, die Verantwortung, dafür einzustehen. 

Mein kompletter Lebenslauf kann auf Anfrage gerne zugemailt werden. 

Zusatzqualifikationen

  • Klangmassagepraktikerin nach Peter Hess®
  • MUSAD - Musikbasierte Skala zur Autismusdiagnostik
  • MUPA-Zertifikat: Muslimische Patient*innen in der Psychotherapie
  • Zertifizierte Musikgeragogin, Fachhochschule Münster, Bereich Soziale Arbeit
  • Seminarleiterschein Progressive Muskelentspannung nach Jacobsen
  • Seminarleiterschein Autogenes Training
  • seit 2023: Zertifikatskurs Community Music an der Landesmusikademie NRW in Heek in Verbindung mit der Hochschule Düsseldort und der Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf
  • Fremdsprachen: Türkisch, Französisch, Englisch (fließend in Wort und Schrift), Arabisch (Basiskenntnisse), Latein & Osmanisch (wie man es eben für Quellenstudien braucht)

Preise und Auszeichungen (Auswahl)

  • Stipendiatin der Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes
  • 1. Preis im Wettbewerb für Blasinstrumente der Yamaha Music Foundation of Europe
  • Wettbewerb für Alte Musik der Fritz Neumeyer Akademie für Alte Musik und des Saarländischen Rundfunks (SR)
  • Echo Klassik 2012, CD "Baroque oriental" (Pera Ensemble, Berlin Classics) 
  • Rast Music Award für die Publikation " Music educational processes in old age: An introduction to the young academic discipline of music geragogy" veröffentlicht im Journal for the Interdisciplinary Art and Education

Musik & Co. 

  • Ich bin auf verschiedenen CDs als Barockoboistin zu hören, besonders erwähnenswert in diesem Kontext sind: "Baroque oriental "(Pera/Berlin Classics), "Café - Orient meets Occicent" (Pera/Berlin Classics), "Amor oriental - Händel alla Turca" (Pera/deutsche harmonia mundi), "Trialog - Music for the One God" (Pera/Berlin Classics) - Der Klick auf den Namen der CD gibt mehr Informationen über den Tonträger, es handelt sich nicht um Affiliate-Links :) 
  • Mit meinem eigenen  Ensemble Alla Turca Kollektif, das basisdemokratisch arbeitet und sich auf die Wechselbeziehungen historischer europäischer und osmanischer Musik spezialisiert hat, liegen Rundfunkaufnahmen beim WDR und dem Schweizer Radio DRS 2 vor. Das Alla Turca Kollektif klingt zum Beispiel so:  "Marches des Janissaires (Blainville) - Nevâ Ceng-i Harbi "Çifte Düyek" (Ali Ufkî)
  • " Şifam - beyond music" ist der Name eines Projektes, bei dem sich alles um orientalische Therapiemusik dreht - eine heilende Reise in eine vergessene Welt. Das klingt so oder auch so
  • "Kaffee für den König" , erschienen bei audible Hörbücher, ist ein musikalisches Märchen aus meiner Feder. Es geht mit Barockmusik aus der Türkei und Europa um die Geschichte des Kaffees und den Zauber des Ramadans. Als Konzert für junge Ohren lief das Projekt unter anderem in der Kölner Philharmonie. 
  • "Magic Sound" ist ein Format, das von der lieben Karin Hübner ins Leben gerufen wurde. Mit Klangschalen, Harfe und Tambura werden Besucher*innen in der Altmark und gerne darüber hinaus eine andere Welt entführt. Gerne auch im Liegen.